Garnier BB Cream Review

Hi all,

I managed to get a hold of the Garnier BB Cream sample. If you read through beauty blogs you would know that BB creams are very popular especially in asian beauty blogs so when Garnier came out with one I was quite interested to try it. If you don’t know what BB creams are :

Here is a definition from wikipedia.
 “BB cream, also known as Blemish Balm, Blemish Base or Beblesh Balm, is a cosmetic item sold mainly in East and Southeast Asia. Originally formulated in South Korea it was initially used by dermatologists to help laser surgery patients protect, soothe and refine highly sensitive skin while providing light coverage for post-laser scars, acne and other blemishes.

BB creams come in a variety of different formulations and qualities. Some are said to have skin whitening or brightening properties. Others are said to be anti-acne or anti-wrinkle, some are intended to even out skin tone, and yet others to lighten blemish scars. BB creams are sometimes used like a primer under foundation, and if tinted may supposedly replace foundation and some newer ones are advertised as having functions of primer, foundation, moisturizer, sun block, pore minimization and skin refining together, making them an economic skin care solution.

In recent years BB cream has gained a noticeable following for its skin-regenerating functions and is now also widely used in Asia to supposedly provide natural-looking skin coverage. It has been named “the secret of Korean actresses”, which gained it large exposure in Asian markets.”

So here is what this BB cream claims it will do:

  • Hydrates for 24 hrs
  • Evens complexion
  • Corrects blemishes
  • Boosts healthy glow
  • UV protection

Review:

I find the product to be moisturising and did give a healthy glow but just alone it didn’t do well for coverage. So I would use this under my foundation. The shade I got was in medium. Those with fairer skin should go for the lighter version.

Let me know if you get to try this product out for yourselves 🙂 Have you tried other BB creams?

Disclaimer: I got this item as a sample, all opinions are my own.

9 thoughts on “Garnier BB Cream Review

  1. I’ve seen quite few posts about this, I was kind of hyped about this but I’m not so sure anymore. I probably need something with a little more coverage, maybe I’ll try to get a sample too! lol

  2. Never heard of BB creams before, but this sounds interesting. I always thought Korean actresses had glowing skin naturally … looks like it’s just great makeup!

  3. Hi Kat! BB Creams are quite new to the US and we call it Beauty Balm. I think I’d like to try this but my skincare routine is quite rigorous, as I need a lot of products to prevent acne, protect from sun, prevent wrinkles, brighten my skin to prevent old age spots… haha Yes this is what u get to look forward to as you get older.

Leave a Reply

