Lemon semolina cake

Hi all,

So I really felt like baking and I did as soon as I woke up πŸ™‚ I guess you could call me morning person πŸ™‚
So today I decided to make lemon semolina cake πŸ™‚ initially I wanted to make Nigella’s lemon polenta cake but we had no polenta so I had to resort to this semolina cake πŸ™‚ *Thanks Shinyprettythings for making me crave this!

To make it you will need:

1 cup castor sugar

125 g of butter/margarine

1 Tablespoon lemon rind/orange rind (I didn’t have much lemons so I had to use a bit of orange ;))

2 eggs

2/3 cup of semolina

1 1/2 cups of Self raising flour

1/2 cup of milk

Lemon syrup : 1 cup of castor sugar, 1/2 cup of cold water and 1/4 cup of lemon juice

Method:
Preheat oven 180 Degrees.
Cream butter, sugar and lemon rind. Add the 2 eggs one by one. Then add the semolina, SR flour and milk.
Pour into a lined cake tin and bake for approx 35 to 45 min depending on your oven.
Lemon syrup – put the sugar, water and juice and boil over a stove until thickens.
Once the cake is out of the oven, poke all over with a skewer and then pour half of the lemon syrup over it. This will cause the lemon goodness to seep into the holes and into the cake making it moist and delish! πŸ˜‰ and voila you’re done πŸ™‚
Happy Sunday everyone! Any good recipes to share? I would love to hear them!
Melbourne weather is crazy at the moment! Rainy Β when it was boiling this morning!
8 thoughts on “Lemon semolina cake

  1. Hi Kat! Isn’t our friend Shiny Pretty Things an amazing baker? I still remember when she made that cake..it looked amazing πŸ™‚ Also I scrolled down, you look awesome in this mint green jeans πŸ™‚

  2. yum yum! I miss baking so much. Charlotte wanted to make red velvet cake but we boxed all of all baking utensils already! This looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

