Interview – Nelah from 52newdays

Hi all,

Time for another interview and today we have Nelah from 52newdays sharing with us. The first time I stumbled across Nelah’s blog was a while ago and I love how she is so honest with her posts and she shares many beautiful photos and posts that interest her and not necessarily anybody else and for that I admire her. So check her out if you already haven’t.

So onto the questions:

1. Tell us what your blog is about, when you started and what inspired you to start blogging?

Hi my (pseudo) name is Nelah and I blog/share/vent over at 52newdays way over there in a small corner of blogpshere. Big thanks to Katherine giving me an opportunity to share bits and pieces of me on her lovely blog.

I have to give a full credit to “motherhood” because it was an initial reason for me to start blogging. After having my baby girl in 2009, my world was turned upside down and I felt like I needed some sort of outlet to spend my energy/creativity/passion on while doing my motherly duties and juggling in my full time job. Being a mom isthe most wonderful thing but many new moms find herself in a situation where she can’t find the right balance between motherhood, work, marriage and “me” time. Mothers are amazing creatures. They work hard around the clock – no sick day – no vacation. They devote all their love, time and energy to their family. However, they have trouble making time for themselves and that was the part I struggled with throughout my journey. I started blogging in June 2010 when my little girl was about 17 months old. I was glad I did because it significantly…can I say…”improved my quality of life and mental health”..haha. I guess I can say that my blog is a lifestyle blog, a bit of everything. My main focus is to talk about things I love and connect with likeminded individuals who want to connect with me.

2. How do you choose what you blog about?

 I choose topics which I feel “comfortable” talking about to blog. I am not considered myself as an expert in any particular topic but if I have experiences in certain areas and if I feel that it can offer any value to others, then it is worth sharing. Many times my posts offer no value at all but it satisfies my personal needs. While it is also important to think about your readers, I do not blog to please anyone or try to attract certain group of readers. It takes trial and error to experiment with blogging but at the end of the day, I want to say things that I believe in / am happy to share and reflect “me”.

3. You have your own etsy items – what is your favourite piece that you are selling?

My favorite piece from my Etsy shop must be the “Dare to be Bold” necklace which was the first piece I sold. That piece held a special meaning.

{Say that you love me necklace}

 

4. What is your favourite piece of clothing?

Pants are my most favorite pieces of clothing in my tiny closet. I wear pants 98% of the time so that says something, right?

 

5. If you had to choose one which one would you choose – Makeup, shoes, nail polish or bags?

Bags, bags and more bags!

 

6. I have to throw in a random question – what is the scariest thing you have done?

That would be giving birth to my daughter without any medication. I had ALWAYS had this fear about giving birth, crazy but true. I remember watching a video that showed woman giving birth and that really, really, really haunted me for years. However when the time came, mother nature knew just what to do and I overcame my fear.

7. What’s your favourite destination to visit?

 

I always love visiting my family in Bangkok. All my family members live there so that is by far my favorite place on earth. One day though, I would like to expand my horizon and visit countries in Europe, Australia and Japan

8. What is on your latest wish/lust list?

 

My latest wish/lust list is fairly short these days and they are not something I feel like I am dying to get them right now. I guess it is a good thing, my bank account is doing a happy dance. At some point in time, I would like to have a Celine Luggage Tote / a Miss Dior Bag/ more Hermes scarves and invest in some Cartier or Bvlgari jewelry but they are not my priority at the moment. Ever since New Year, my focus has shifted and I have begun to appreciate an idea of minimalism particularly on material goods. I focus on what I truly like and its practicality rather than going out and buy everything in sight. I am more interested in gaining travel experience, maintaining personal finance and improving our home.

 

9. What advice do you give new bloggers who are starting out their own blogs? 

You know I can write a thesis on this. It does take some experimentation to find “the happy medium in blogging” but there is no complicated science. The most important thing is to “be yourself” and stay true to your initial goal. We all blog for many reasons – be it just for fun, to partner with businesses, to promote your business, to have your own look book, to connect with family, to share your journey/struggles/problems or etc. We all agree that at some point most of us get carried away with trying to gain followers, drive more traffic and maintain stats. I can tell you from my experience that those things can eventually ruin the “fun”. I had been there, I had done that and I almost stopped blogging. Step back and take a break when you need to. Think about what brought you into blogging and the fun you had. If blogging is really your passion, get back to it and start fresh. Blog about what you are comfortable with..share your true passion / belief..reflect your inner soul and be yourself. You want people to get to know and like you the way you are. You will be amazed at how many friends you can meet via blogging. Blogsphere is an amazing supporting community if you get into the one that suits you.

 

10. Lastly, tell us something about yourself that most people wouldn’t know?

I am rather a quiet person in real life, definitely not a chatter box. That is quite contradicting to the person I am on the blog because I have so much to share and talk about there. I am an introvert so I communicate my thoughts and inner soul better in writing. I can also read people and that helps me avoid “friendship goes wrong” situations many times in life. I can say that the friends I have now are the friends for life, I don’t have that many but quality is the key. I hate drama / cat fight/ gossip / fakers and craps like that in general so I stay away or keep a good distance from people who tend to have that personality traits. I believe in surrounding yourself with positive things, it makes a difference in your life.

Thanks so much Nelah for taking the time to answer these questions. Looking forward to seeing what you post in the future 🙂

Any other suggestions for future interviews – please leave me comments or email me 🙂

7 thoughts on “Interview – Nelah from 52newdays

  1. I am so glad you featured Nelah! I have a running joke with her in trying to figure out her real name, I was guesing Halen or Helan but she said no.. So I secretly think her name is like Mary..lol!

  2. What a great interview! Wow would never guess Nelah was quiet introvert in real life, as she’s quite the chatterbox on blogosphere! Love her and her blog 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

