Interview – Frills and thrills

Hi all,

This is a requested interview from one of my readers.  So please welcome Sam from Frills and Thrills.

1. Tell us what your blog is about and what inspired you to start blogging?

I studied Journalism & Fashion Marketing, with an aim to work in the magazine industry, however there aren’t many career opportunities for that here in South Africa. So instead of waiting around, I decided to be pro-active and start a fashion blog. Frills and Thrills is my personal version of an online style magazine.

2. How do you choose what you blog about?

I try to include every facet of fashion, including runway looks, celebrity style, red carpet events, trends, brand features and little bits of inspiration.

3. Your blog has a lot of fashion trends How do you find out about these trends?

I read a lot of magazines, in print and online. Also, FTV is the place to view style in motion. I’ve noticed that seeing a picture of a designer gown doesn’t have the same effect as watching it sashay down the runway.

4. Who is your favourite fashion celebrity?

Gosh, there are many stylish celebrities that I admire, it would be hard to pick just one! So I’m going to cheat on this question 😉 I’d say Alexa Chung for her unconventional approach towards fashion, I love how she defies by not wearing heels all of the time. I appreciate the bohemian glamour of Florence Welch, Jessica Alba’s savvy street style, Fan Bing Bing for doing couture gowns great justice and Mia Wasikowska for always choosing simple and elegant red carpet looks. And not to forget, Blake Lively off-screen, and Leighton Meester on-screen (as Blair Waldorf).

5. Makeup, shoes, nail polish or bags?

My favourite brand of makeup is MAC for making skin look perfectly polished. I love the benefit range of cosmetics for their quaint packaging and whimsicality.
I would love to own a pair of Charlotte Olympia pumps, but I’m secretly a flats type-of-girl. I think Mulberry bags are a timeless classics and I like Coach bags for their versatility. On my bag wish list right now is a Proenza Schouler PS1 satchel, any colour will do!

6. I have to throw in a random question – what is the scariest thing you have done?
I’m not the adventurous type, so the scariest thing I’ve done is ride Splash Mountain in Disneyland when I was younger. I didn’t know how scared I was of heights until I shrieked my way all 52 feet down.

7. What’s your favourite destination to visit?

I love Beirut, I think it’s my favourite city for the moment. I’d like return there someday.
The Far East has a great vibe, I could revisit Malaysia & Thailand over and over again and not tire of it.

8. What is on your latest wish/lust list?

(Besides for the above-mentioned Charlotte Olympia Pumps and Proenza Schouler bag),
Anything from Balmain’s Spring/Summer 2012 collection, a Burberry Prorsum trench coat, a pleated black silk & lace Nina Ricci dress, a structured Alexander McQueen jacket and a fedora by Eugenia Kim. I agree that this is an impossibly far-fetched and unrealistic list 😉

9. What advice do you give new bloggers who are starting out their own blogs?

Blog on what you’re passionate about, regardless of what anyone says. Even if it does not conform to popular themes and topics. Doing this ensures that you will always be inspired to post something new, with an individualistic point of view. Try not to set limits for yourself. A blog is your personal space to write freely about anything you’d like, and share your thoughts and creativity with the rest of the world.

10. Lastly, tell us something about yourself that most people wouldn’t know?

Most may wonder why I don’t do any personal outfit posts on my blog, the truth is I am terribly camera shy and don’t like posing for photographs. Every time I see someone with a camera, I’m most likely to run & hide!

Special Thanks to Katherine for asking me to do this interview. It was lots of fun!

Thanks Sam for all your answers! I loved your latest lust haves and wish lists and those bags are so lovely! This girl seriously knows her fashion so check her out 🙂

Please let me know if you would like to be interviewed or would like someone to be interviewed!

2 thoughts on “Interview – Frills and thrills

Leave a Reply

