Gingerbread men

I love eating gingerbread! This weekend I felt like baking so I looked up a gingerbread recipe from Taste.com and amended it because I didn’t have treacle/golden syrup. Here is the recipe for those who are interested :

=

125 grams butter/margarine (I used margarine)
½ cup of brown sugar
1 egg (separate the yolk)
½ cup of treacle/golden syrup -(I used honey instead – makes it smell so yummy)
1 Tbsp of ground ginger (If you like yours more gingery – add more )
2 ½ cups of plain flour
1 tsp of bicarb soda

Icing:
Egg white
1 cup Pure icing sugar
Coloring
Optional – lollies/choc for decorating

And the fun begins 🙂

Method:
Preheat oven to 180 degrees


Cream the margarine and sugar together in a bowl.


Add the egg yolk and honey and mix well


Add the ground ginger, plain flour and bicarb soda and mix until it becomes like a dough.


Knead the dough lightly and put it in clingwrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes

 
Time to roll out the dough and cut out gingerbread men or in my case all sorts of shapes sizes and my bro attempted to build a house – which became a tomb haha


Put on trays and bake for 10 min or until golden brown
Leave to cool and then have fun icing and decorating!

Icing:
Whisk the egg white until it forms peaks, add the icing sugar gradually and then refrigerate

End result : TADA!!

  

8 thoughts on “Gingerbread men

  1. Oh I love gingerbread … but I still can’t bear to make it myself anymore after I was “volunteered” to make all the gingerbread home pieces for a company family activity way back when – staying up all night baking and numerous runs to Walmart to buy more of this, that, other … shudder!

  2. So cute! Love the tomb and the poor gingerbread men who are missing limbs.
    My sister and I have agreed that we will be baking and decorating gingerbread houses when she comes to visit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

